## NRHEG PUBLIC SCHOOL ISD #2168 BOARD OF EDUCATION ANNUAL ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING Tuesday, January 2, 2024 at 5:30PM

## **MINUTES**

- Meeting called BACK to order from Tuesday, January 2, 2024 by Chairman, Rick Schultz, at 5:30PM
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Roll Call:

Members present: Terri Engel, Amy Ihrke, Aaron Phillips, Loren Schoenrock, Pat Theuer, and Rick

Schultz

Absent: Rich Mueller

**5. Approve Agenda:** Moved by Dan Schmidt, seconded by Loren Schoenrock to approve the agenda.

Terri Engel—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Amy Ihrke—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Aaron Phillips—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Rich Mueller—ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—<mark>aye</mark>, nye Pat Theuer—<mark>aye</mark>, nye

Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

## 6. Election of Board Officers

- **a. Chair** Loren Schoenrock nominated Rick Schultz for Chair of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Rick Schultz who was re-elected Board Chair.
- b. Vice-Chair Terri Engel nominated Loren Schoenrock for Vice-Chair of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Loren Schoenrock who was re-elected Vice-Chair.
- **c. Clerk** Rick Schultz nominated Terri Engel for Clerk of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Terri Engel who was re-elected Clerk.
- **d.** Treasurer Loren Schoenrock nominated Pat Theuer for Treasurer of the Board of Education. There were no other nominations. Congratulations to Pat Theuer who was elected Treasurer.

Congratulations to our four officers for 2024. Thank you for your service and leadership.

## 7. Other Business

- a. Assign School Board Committees (Appointed)
  - 1) Chair appointed Loren Schoenrock, Pat Theuer and Amy Ihrke to the finance committee.
  - 2) Chair appointed Rich Mueller, Loren Schoenrock and Terri Engel to the policy committee.
  - 3) Chair appointed Rick Schultz, Loren Schoenrock and Terri Engel to the building and grounds committee.

- 4) Chair appointed Rick Schultz, Pat Theuer and Rich Mueller to the transportation committee.
- 5) Chair appointed Rich Mueller, Aaron Phillips and Amy Ihrke for the school activities committee.
- 6) Chair appointed Rick Schultz, Aaron Phillips and Loren Schoenrock to the negotiations committee for Paraprofessionals Union.
- 7) Chair appointed Terri Engel, Rich Mueller and Pat Theuer to the negotiations committee for the AFSCME Union.
- 8) Chair appointed Rich Mueller, Amy Ihrke and Rick Schultz to the negotiations committee for the Certified Staff.
- 9) Chair appointed Aaron Phillips to the Wellness committee.
- **b.** <u>Set the Depositories for 2024:</u> Moved by Amy Ihrke, seconded by Pat Theuer to approve the official depositories for fiscal 2024; State Bank of New Richland and the Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund.

Terri Engel—aye, nye Amy Ihrke—aye, nye Aaron Phillips—aye, nye Rich Mueller--ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—aye, nye Pat Theuer—aye, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

**c.** <u>Authorization of Investments/Electronic Funds Transfers 2024</u>: Moved by Amy Ihrke, seconded by Aaron Phillips to authorize the Superintendent of Schools to make appropriate investments and electronic fund transfers of district funds.

Terri Engel—aye, nye Amy Ihrke—aye, nye Aaron Phillips—aye, nye Rich Mueller--ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—aye, nye Pat Theuer—aye, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

**d.** <u>Set the Official Newspaper for 2024</u>: Moved by Amy Ihrke, seconded by Pat Theuer to approve the Star Eagle as the official newspaper for fiscal 2024.

Terri Engel—aye, nye Amy Ihrke—aye, nye Aaron Phillips—aye, nye Rich Mueller--ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—aye, nye Pat Theuer—aye, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

e. Set the Regular Board Meeting Date, Time and Location: Moved by Terri Engel, seconded by Amy Ihrke to set the date and time for the regular board meeting each month to the third Monday of each month at 6:30 p.m. and rotate each meeting between the two school buildings to be held in the media center. The Board meeting schedule at the Elementary School will be January, March, May, July, September, and November. The Board meeting schedule at the Secondary School will be February, April, June, August, October, and December.

Terri Engel—aye, nye Amy Ihrke—aye, nye Aaron Phillips—aye, nye Rich Mueller--ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—aye, nye Pat Theuer—aye, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

**f.** <u>Set Board Member Compensation</u>: Moved by Amy Ihrke, seconded by Loren Schoenrock to approve the board member compensation at \$100 for regular/special meetings and \$150 for a full-day meeting or workshop. Additional compensation: \$200 Chair, \$150 Clerk and \$100 Treasurer.

Terri Engel—aye, nye Amy Ihrke—aye, nye Aaron Phillips—aye, nye Rich Mueller--ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—aye, nye Pat Theuer—aye, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

**8. Adjournment:** Moved by Terri Engel, seconded by Amy Ihrke to adjourned the meeting. Meeting adjourned at 6:13PM.

Terri Engel—aye, nye Amy Ihrke—aye, nye Aaron Phillips—aye, nye Rich Mueller--ABSENT Loren Schoenrock—aye, nye Pat Theuer—aye, nye Rick Schultz—aye, nye Motion carried 6-0.

Submitted by Terri Engel, Clerk